• Home
  • >
  • >
  • Two Collierville residents inducted into the Parks Hall of Fame

Two Collierville residents inducted into the Parks Hall of Fame

Town of Collierville

Parsons:  Bucky Parsons stands next to his panel in the Hall of Fame.

Photo provided by Liza Bryson.

The Collierville Parks Recreation and Cultural Arts Department held its fourth Hall of Fame ceremony at the Harrell Performing Arts Theatre Thursday, October 5, 2023. Town Administrator Molly Mehner welcomed guests to the Hall of Fame Ceremony and Mayor Joyner announced the 2023 inductees. This year’s inductees included the late John Meeks and Bucky Parsons. Nominated by fellow Collierville residents, the Parks Hall of Fame honors residents who have made exemplary and lasting contributions to the advancement of the Collierville Parks system. 

 For over 15 years, John Meeks made lasting impacts to the Town of Collierville Parks, Recreation, and Cultural Arts Department. He was the driving force behind the development of the recreation needs analysis (parks master plan) that served as a guide for future parks and program planning for the Town. He was also instrumental in the development of the department service provider for all youth sports, the first Collierville Greenbelt Plan that highlighted over 30 miles of potential trails within the Town, and the Parkland Dedication Ordinance. While serving as an Alderman, from 1981 – 1996, he helped to further the arts with capital and operational funding for both the Collierville Community Center and the Harrell Performing Arts Theater.   

Meeks: Members of the Meeks family accept John’s induction on his behalf.

Photo provided by Liza Bryson

“Bucky” Parsons volunteered his time, talents, and expertise to mentoring Collierville youth in sports starting in 1993. He was a model coach for the youth as he volunteered his time while simultaneously working as an air traffic controller for over 30 years. He held many leadership positions, such as the Collierville Youth Athletic Association President and ensured that every Collierville child received the experience and fulfillment of the sport that they played. Even after his own children graduated, his passion for volunteering never ended as he kept score at the Collierville High School press box on Friday nights. 

 The Parks Department established the Hall of Fame in 2013 as they celebrated their 30th anniversary. Tonight’s inductees are featured on individual plaques displayed at the Collierville Community Center, 440 W. Powell Road, among past Hall of Fame honorees. Prior inductees include Preston Carpenter, Dr. Dan Lattimore, and Randy Lowry. Other honorees include Mary Jean Smith, Carl Swearingen, Chip Petersen, and Ben Neal.

Related Posts

The Collierville Herald-Independent strives every day to bring the people of Collierville news that impacts their lives, allowing them to make more informed decisions on a daily basis.
Contact us: [email protected]